Dress: plain to snazzy

I made this blue linen dress about a year ago. The bodice is cut on the bias so it is just stretchy enough to pull over your head, no lacing required! And the sleeves are short so it is cooler at summer events. However, it was kinda plain and blah.

After inspiration from another source, I decided to enhance the dress to simulate a layered look and add some visual interest. I added a yellow linen layer under the blue collar. To the sleeves, I added a gray linen band with purchased trim, followed by yellow linen sleeve extensions. I backed more of the trim with more of the gray linen to make a belt, taking a brass belt loop from another old belt. I also took in the waist about 4 inches to give it more shape. Add a necklace, and voila!

One thought on “Dress: plain to snazzy

Leave a comment